Sync advertising library

This forum can be used to post any topics related to general broadcast questions, tech stuff, informations etc.
This forum is unmoderated!
Post Reply
sbourghardt
Posts: 18
Joined: 28 Aug 2016 17:41

Sync advertising library

Post by sbourghardt » 04 Oct 2017 10:49

Hi,
We have just started a new studio for our station from where we will be broadcasting live. Our enterprise computer which runs as server will remain in our old studio and we will be broadcasting from a professional-license in the new one.

I wonder if there is a way to sync to advertising library on to enterprise-server to our live-computer. So the breaks will be the same without having to manully update both computers with new advertisers etc.

(Our PF icenses are on the email: claesson.john@gmail.com)

Online
User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 4361
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Sync advertising library

Post by radio42 » 04 Oct 2017 11:14

You should simply point both your PF instances to the same Advert Storage Path (e.g. a common, shared (network) folder).

However, I see two issues:
1) as far as I can see, you are using the non-commercial Professional Edition.
With this version you are not eligible to use Adverts, since when using adverts you are by definition commercial I assume; so you might think of upgrading to the commercial version.

2) the Professional Edition doesn't support Adverts anyhow.

sbourghardt
Posts: 18
Joined: 28 Aug 2016 17:41

Re: Sync advertising library

Post by sbourghardt » 04 Oct 2017 12:24

I see, I will talk with John about upgrading those licences.

sbourghardt
Posts: 18
Joined: 28 Aug 2016 17:41

Re: Sync advertising library

Post by sbourghardt » 04 Oct 2017 16:32

Hi again,
I have another question, not related to the one above.

Is it possible to set up the routing for the regular PFL-channel so it outputs to a certain soundcard output, and the Voicetrack PLF (When you hear songs etc as preview when voicetracking) to another soundcard output. This would be very useful for us.

Online
User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 4361
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Sync advertising library

Post by radio42 » 04 Oct 2017 17:04

No; and being honest I don't see any real reason, why a regular PFL should go to another channel than when you PFL your voice track.

But...maybe you want to mute a certain mixer output channel; in case you have a mixer input channel open?
Note, that you can do this in the mixer input channels control command events; e.g. use the OnON resp. OnOFF events to do so.

sbourghardt
Posts: 18
Joined: 28 Aug 2016 17:41

Re: Sync advertising library

Post by sbourghardt » 11 Oct 2017 11:27

Hi again,
We have now updated our icence to Enterprise and I have synced the Adv. lib. Everything works great so far. But I wonder if it is possible to use individual Overlay schedules for the two different computers.

Cause, when we broadcast live via modstream watcher to our main server, the advert-blocks(overlays) that's not played out will cue-up in a row. And when the Modstream is stopped, the server starts to play all this overlays in a row. So to avoid this I have now removed all Overlays for the time when we are live. But we need the overlays on the new Enterprise-computer in order to broadcast advertising when live.

Online
User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 4361
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Sync advertising library

Post by radio42 » 11 Oct 2017 14:38

No each ProppFrexx instance runs its own Overlay and Program Scheduler.
Multiple PF instances might share the same Scheduler; but not the other way around.

What you can do however is to disable the use of the Overlays from within your Programm Scheduler entry: see the ‘SuppresaAllOverlays’ option.
This way you won’t have to remove Overlays, but simply disable them for a particular program.

sbourghardt
Posts: 18
Joined: 28 Aug 2016 17:41

Re: Sync advertising library

Post by sbourghardt » 11 Oct 2017 17:05

Where do I find this option. Image from our program: https://imgur.com/a/tXFSg

Online
User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 4361
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Sync advertising library

Post by radio42 » 12 Oct 2017 10:51

Make sure to use the latest version.
If you don’t see this option you probably don’t use the latest v4.0.3.76?!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest