Replicating mixer for failover

This forum can be used to post any topics related to general broadcast questions, tech stuff, informations etc.
This forum is unmoderated!
Post Reply
mixmog
Posts: 26
Joined: 06 Feb 2018 11:42
Replicating mixer for failover

Post by mixmog »

I currently use Proppfrexx mainly for TCP/IP controlled audio mixing, but running only one instance introduces a single point of failure.

Whilst I can see that Proppfrexx can be operated in master/slave mode, I wonder if this could be used to replicate mixer activities - so if the master were to fail, could the slave take over mixing/routing audio?

The obvious problem I can see is that the master will have one IP for address for TCP/IP control and the slave another, so any control requests would surely fail whilst the master was unavailable.

Would appreciate your comments!
User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 6456
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:
Re: Replicating mixer for failover

Post by radio42 »

For transparent failover of Audio within a networked environment I’d recommend Audio over IP. Eg using Dante or Ravenna.
mixmog
Posts: 26
Joined: 06 Feb 2018 11:42
Re: Replicating mixer for failover

Post by mixmog »

Hi Bernd - we are using Dante, do you have any advice on how to set up transparent failover?
User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 6456
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:
Re: Replicating mixer for failover

Post by radio42 »

No, as I am not a Dante specialist - but I am pretty sure, that they have this in their portfolio - have you asked them about it?
mixmog
Posts: 26
Joined: 06 Feb 2018 11:42
Re: Replicating mixer for failover

Post by mixmog »

I don't think this is a Dante issue - what I'm trying to achieve is a mixer failover, either automatic or manual, so if the primary Propprexx machine mixing audio has to go down for whatever reason, we can switch to a secondary. My question is about how we might, with the required Dante routing in place, re-direct audio from one instance of Proppfrexx to another.
User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 6456
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:
Re: Replicating mixer for failover

Post by radio42 »

Ahh okay.
The failover of PF to another PF instance can be some vie the Master/Slave mode using the Heartbeat monitoring mode.
This is eg explained here:
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=793&p=3362
mixmog
Posts: 26
Joined: 06 Feb 2018 11:42
Re: Replicating mixer for failover

Post by mixmog »

Ok - so we could basically have the mixer settings identical on the slave PF, but muted - to be unmuted by command if the heartbeat fails
User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 6456
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:
Re: Replicating mixer for failover

Post by radio42 »

Yes, for example.

Post Reply