PFL-Player active Playlist

You found a bug or have any issues? Please post them here!
User avatar
Adger
Posts: 122
Joined: 10 Apr 2012 20:09

PFL-Player active Playlist

Post by Adger » 12 Jul 2012 21:02

For some reason since the last update the PFL-player refuses to play tracks from a running playlist... on my side no setting changed... help, please?

User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 6049
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26

Re: PFL-Player active Playlist

Post by radio42 » 12 Jul 2012 21:17

I can not reproduce this issue here.
What do you mean by 'running playlist' - is this a playlist where AutoPlay in ON?
I just tested that here with an AutoPlay playlist, with a scheduler running playlist - all worked just fine and PFL was working.

Please also double check your soundcards, since I just recently heard from a user, where the last Windows 7 Update installed some new soundcard drivers and thus joggled all his soundcard devices...so maybe something similar happed to you as well?

User avatar
Adger
Posts: 122
Joined: 10 Apr 2012 20:09

Re: PFL-Player active Playlist

Post by Adger » 12 Jul 2012 21:30

Yes I am refering to playlist currently playing to a server, autoplay on.

Odd thing is that it worked till the update I applied this afternoon...

I'll investigate this further after this show, probably tomorrow.

User avatar
Adger
Posts: 122
Joined: 10 Apr 2012 20:09

Re: PFL-Player active Playlist

Post by Adger » 13 Jul 2012 02:34

I can not pinpoint the culprit with 100% certainty but Bernd's hint to the sound-routing was golden.

By checking all the settings within PFOA I couldn't locaten anything unusual. The even testtones were sent to the correct channels and devices. But still PFL did not play in playlist. I rescanned everything, which did not change anything, nor did it solve problems. That was why I resolved to manually "resetting" the devices in PFOA. To acchieve this I switched every mixing channel once from wasapi to wdm and back, hitting "ok" every time. After that I started to manually switch all mixerchannels away from their set device and back again. Here I noticed something odd: Although I assigned certain channels to devices, PFOA somehow re-assigned them. After going jolly go around for quite a few assign-reassigns, PFOA finally had everything set as I desired, alas PFL would still not play. A restart of PFOA solved this eventually.

So if anybody gets hit by this very problem: PFOA would open the PFL, display the soundpattern and claim "I'm playing" but you won't see the red line advancing nor hear anything: Go to Settings -> Input/Output and do as I did. It takes roughly 3 or 5 minutes to reassign everything - provided you know what you are doing. After that you should be fine and everything should work again.

Again: Thank you Bernd for pointing me in the right direction.

Farbo
Posts: 346
Joined: 11 Apr 2012 15:04

Re: PFL-Player active Playlist

Post by Farbo » 13 Jul 2012 08:06

Maybe therefore would be good to be able to lock somehow assignement of sound device to channels in order not to change them by windows itself, etc.
Peter

Farbo
Posts: 346
Joined: 11 Apr 2012 15:04

Re: PFL-Player active Playlist

Post by Farbo » 13 Jul 2012 11:05

It is working fine on my machine, fortunatelly.
Peter

User avatar
Adger
Posts: 122
Joined: 10 Apr 2012 20:09

Re: PFL-Player active Playlist

Post by Adger » 13 Jul 2012 11:18

A simple restart of ProppFrexx resp. a reboot of the machine (depending on the driver installation) might have already resolved the issue.
Nope. I have tried this and it did not solve the problem.

User avatar
Adger
Posts: 122
Joined: 10 Apr 2012 20:09

Re: PFL-Player active Playlist

Post by Adger » 13 Jul 2012 11:55

same for me: my internal Realtek (where I am routing PFL to) was affected.

Farbo
Posts: 346
Joined: 11 Apr 2012 15:04

Re: PFL-Player active Playlist

Post by Farbo » 13 Jul 2012 12:18

Hm, I will have to try it at home where I also have realtek soundcard. Hopefully it will work.
Peter

User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 6049
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26

Re: PFL-Player active Playlist

Post by radio42 » 13 Jul 2012 13:03

I am sorry to say, but in this case we should blame RealTek for its driver/installation policy.
But the truth is: RealTek focuses on the pure consumer market, so they have basically have applications in mind, which typically use the 'Default Sound Device' but doesn't work with multiple devices simultaniously - like iTunes, Winamp, Windows Media Player etc.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests