Built In Request System (Proposition)

You are missing a feature or need an enhancement? Post your suggestion here!
chrishawk
Built In Request System (Proposition)

Post by chrishawk »

So I have been using ProppFrexx for about 2 or 3 years now, my old mind slips me these days haha. I absolutely love the program as my 'testimonial' on the site says ;) but one thing that would be really cool to see is some sort of an integrated request system such as what I have seen on some 'other' broadcast programs. I know this was gone over a bit in the 'questions and answers' area of the forums but wanted to dive into it a little deeper.

The way it is set up is as a separate 'website script' that is directed by an HTML output in the software. It generates a web based list of your song database and a way for listeners to view and 'request' songs through the web page. A command is then sent to the playout system and the Live/Auto DJ can put the song right in to the current playlist. The system even includes a way for a listener to put in a text 'dedication message' that a Live DJ would see. I am sure not how well I described this but hopefully not like a 3 year old haha. I'm not sure if this is capable or sensible with ProppFrexx but it really would be a cool feature for those of us that use ProppFrexx as a live playout system.

Thanks,

Chris Tishler
(Chris Hawk | American Thunder Indie Music Show)
radio42
Site Admin
Re: Built In Request System (Proposition)

Post by radio42 »

A few things might already be done outside of ProppFrexx for Live Radios.
E.g. you might use the Media Lib Export functionality to write the needed tracks to a csv file for later importing to a database or you might directly export to a DB.
This DB might then be used for your web site request system.
Of course such a request web site needs to be coded by yourself, which might even work without any DB.
E.g. a simple text based chat system would also do its job.