v3.0.13.15 - stable

This forum will contain general news and announcements made by radio42.
User avatar
hdradio
Posts: 622
Joined: 10 Apr 2012 17:36

Re: v3.0.13.15 - stable

Post by hdradio » 18 Apr 2014 07:50

Bernd I noticed that again today it couldn't find and load a script.
Yesterday after our tv session I changed my paths to point to mapped drives.
Today the 07:00am script did not load.
A look to Scripts info had this:

Code: Select all

...
Library: d0500
  S:\proppfrexx\Scripts\d0500.pfs
  Is Additional: False
  Last Access: 18/04/2014 07:57:06, Last Refresh: 18/04/2014 07:57:06
  History: 180 (180), Hits: 45

Library: d0700 (S:\)
  S:\proppfrexx\Scripts\d0700.pfs
  Is Additional: False
  Last Access: 18/04/2014 07:57:06, Last Refresh: 18/04/2014 07:57:06
  History: 180 (177), Hits: 0

Library: d0900
  S:\proppfrexx\Scripts\d0900.pfs
  Is Additional: False
  Last Access: 18/04/2014 07:57:06, Last Refresh: 18/04/2014 07:57:06
  History: 180 (175), Hits: 0
Noticed that the d0700 script changed its name to "d0700 (S:\)".
I haven't made such change and I don't know why and how this changed.

I changed the name of the script back to "d0700" and now it can find and run the script.
But I wonder why at the following labels there is a difference between Current and Next program.
I mean in Current shows "d0700 [d0700.pfs]" and Next only "d0900"
Image

Also I have a question about the mapped drives we talked yesterday.
I have mapped "\\OnAir1\Music" to "M:"
Then in MLS I 've added folder "M:\Pop\"
When a file plays on PF, info for a file playing is :
"\\OnAir\Music\Pop\aFile.mp3"
I supposed that it should show : "M:\Pop\aFile.mp3" or I am wrong ?

User avatar
hdradio
Posts: 622
Joined: 10 Apr 2012 17:36

Re: v3.0.13.15 - stable

Post by hdradio » 18 Apr 2014 12:02

a) Changed script name:
If ProppFrexx find 2 scripts to be loaded with exactly the same name, the 2nd one being loaded will be renamed (its root path is actually added) to resolve to a unique name.
This instead of ignoring or dropping that script - its better that you see the issue instead of hiding it I guess.
As such you must have specified the script with the name 'd0700' twice!
I guess one needs to be removed.
I really don't understand how PF found 2 scripts as there is only one there.
I am not using any additional script libraries. Only Script Library Path (scripts are found there).
(Except if it's the problem with .pfs.xspf log files we 've found yesterday).

User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 5566
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26

Re: v3.0.13.15 - stable

Post by radio42 » 18 Apr 2014 19:11

many questions again ;-)

a) Changed script name:
If ProppFrexx find 2 scripts to be loaded with exactly the same name, the 2nd one being loaded will be renamed (its root path is actually added) to resolve to a unique name.
This instead of ignoring or dropping that script - its better that you see the issue instead of hiding it I guess.
As such you must have specified the script with the name 'd0700' twice!
I guess one needs to be removed.

b) Display (2nd line):
In the 'Current Program' the already resolved 'Script' will be shown (which is the name and in brackets the resolved script filename) plus the Start Type.
In the 'Next Program' the unresolved 'playing' entry from the program scheduler entry is shown, which is just the reference of the name of a script.
So that is normal and by design.

c) You mapped the drive on the MLS to M: - that is fine.
However, at the time a ProppFrexx instance connects to the MLS and asks for an entry...the MLS 'translates' that to a UNC path (see the UNC path setting in the MLS) and tells the ProppFrexx instance the UNC path instead of the mapped path as the MLS sees/knows it.
This is good, because the ProppFrexx PC might use a different mapping and as such using UNC paths are more universal.
Note the difference:
- the MLS itself might use a mapped drive (M:) to load its content
- but it tells the clients (the connected ProppFrexx PCs) the UNC path
This mapping (drive letter to UNC) takes place at the time a client asks for an entry!
So also this is perfectly correct.

User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 5566
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26

Re: v3.0.13.15 - stable

Post by radio42 » 19 Apr 2014 07:27

I guess that is related to changing the 'Auto. Library Path' and then directly reloading.
PF wouldn't unload the previously loaded libs as they might still be in use. And as such the new path might contain the same lib again.
When changing the 'Auto. Library Path' it is therefore recommended to restart PF.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests