PF streaming with Breakaway One

This forum can be used to post any topics related to general broadcast questions, tech stuff, informations etc.
This forum is unmoderated!
Post Reply
JWvanGulik
Posts: 69
Joined: 06 Dec 2018 08:13

PF streaming with Breakaway One

Post by JWvanGulik » 24 Dec 2019 09:38

Hi, I have been fine-tuning my PF system to a perfect radio station (to my taste) and am now looking for going "on-air". My Breakaway One has a perfect kick-ass processing and I would like to get my sound on-line. Does anyone have experience with streaming with Breakaway One or streaming in general? My radio experience is quite extensive, but I'm from the analogue generation...

Thanks in advance, JW.

Inzane8305
Posts: 21
Joined: 06 Jun 2018 08:06

Re: PF streaming with Breakaway One

Post by Inzane8305 » 08 Jan 2020 11:29

Streaming with Breakaway One: I think you should see support at BreakAway homepage. (Setting up Streaming)
PF, on the other hand, is most capable to stream on it's own, you just need to download the software for Icecast or Shoutcast (and have a little "DOS-program" running) but that will not be processed with BreakAway One unless you do some software routing with the Breakaway Pipeline. Stereotool with PF (imho) is better because it is a VST/DSP that you then can stream directly.

User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 5700
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26

Re: PF streaming with Breakaway One

Post by radio42 » 08 Jan 2020 17:49

A few users do use Breakaway. In the end it’s a matter of Taste ;-)

I guess there is already a very easy way to use Breakaway via its Breakaway Pipeline!
Ie. in this setup Breakaway acts like a virtual sound device, which can directly be used and setup within ProppFrexx as either an output or even input mixer channel.
So the use and integration is already and easily possible.

JWvanGulik
Posts: 69
Joined: 06 Dec 2018 08:13

Re: PF streaming with Breakaway One

Post by JWvanGulik » 10 Jan 2020 10:25

Hi guys, thanks for your suggestions. Currently I have my Breakaway One in a pipeline (on the same machine). I'm a nitwit when it comes to streaming and how to set this up. Is there some kind of manual available from PF how this would be possible the easiest way? I'm so curious how my sound sounds like when it is "on-air"!

User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 5700
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26

Re: PF streaming with Breakaway One

Post by radio42 » 10 Jan 2020 14:36

To setup streaming, go to the ‚Network Streaming Monitor‘ panel and add a new Streaming Server.
Press on the ? Icon at the very top right to get help.
Esssentially you can define here which audio signal from which mixer channel you want to use as a source.
If you are using breakaway pipeline but not it streaming function, it would add its processing after the signal left the mixer output.
So you would need to feed it’s processed audio signal also back in as an input mixer channel and than use this as the source for streaming.

djbony
Posts: 187
Joined: 13 May 2014 08:11

Re: PF streaming with Breakaway One

Post by djbony » 14 Jan 2020 22:28

JWvanGulik wrote:
10 Jan 2020 10:25
Hi guys, thanks for your suggestions. Currently I have my Breakaway One in a pipeline (on the same machine). I'm a nitwit when it comes to streaming and how to set this up. Is there some kind of manual available from PF how this would be possible the easiest way? I'm so curious how my sound sounds like when it is "on-air"!
Hello,
my config... P.
Attachments
PFOA.png
BO.png

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest