Network Streaming Monitor status not updating

You found a bug or have any issues? Please post them here!
phonic
Posts: 120
Joined: 06 Mar 2019 14:45

Network Streaming Monitor status not updating

Post by phonic » 10 Jun 2019 21:30

I may have found a bug with the status monitor that's getting a little annoying, as from time to time Servers stats would not update. Status, Sent (KB), Listeners would be blank or just not update. Using latest version .40

The only way I've found to resolve, is to select "stop all servers" and then select "start all servers". Stopping just the one server and restarting does not resolve the issue, I have to stop all then restart all.

User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 5529
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26

Re: Network Streaming Monitor status not updating

Post by radio42 » 10 Jun 2019 21:39

I cannot confirm this. Maybe this is a local network issue? As here the status updates without restarting.

phonic
Posts: 120
Joined: 06 Mar 2019 14:45

Re: Network Streaming Monitor status not updating

Post by phonic » 10 Jun 2019 22:28

It works fine for hours and then it goes blank or stop counting and updating the stats for that server or servers. Sometimes it’s just one of them.

It’s just happened again this evening and tried to restart just one and just says connected but does not update the stats, I had to stop all and restart start again to get all columns and showing data again.

As you mentioned network issue, It could well be intermittent packet loss that is causing the issue with the status monitor.

phonic
Posts: 120
Joined: 06 Mar 2019 14:45

Re: Network Streaming Monitor status not updating

Post by phonic » 11 Jun 2019 14:31

The issue is the stats just stop updating or go blank( apart from first and second columns, server name and the connected status) for one or more servers, but continues to stream normally.

User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 5529
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26

Re: Network Streaming Monitor status not updating

Post by radio42 » 11 Jun 2019 15:09

As said, I can not reproduce that here.
What exact column is updating and which are not updating? All or only a few?
As the update is happening is certain time intervals, it always queries the related server for the statistical info.
Maybe your server reports an invalid xml file after some time?
Is this an ICEcast or SHOUTcast server?

phonic
Posts: 120
Joined: 06 Mar 2019 14:45

Re: Network Streaming Monitor status not updating

Post by phonic » 11 Jun 2019 19:47

radio42 wrote:
11 Jun 2019 15:09
As said, I can not reproduce that here.
What exact column is updating and which are not updating? All or only a few?
As the update is happening is certain time intervals, it always queries the related server for the statistical info.
Maybe your server reports an invalid xml file after some time?
Is this an ICEcast or SHOUTcast server?
Both ICEcast version 2.4.4. And SHOUTcast version 2.6
Columns:
Server and Status always displays.
Send(KB), Up Time, and Listeners stop after so many hours.
For example it’s stopped again on all 4 connected servers this morning and been showing the following all day:

Website AAC+ SHOUTcast(Streaming)... CONNECTED
396,228. 04:42:06. 30

The other 3 are ICEcast and say. CONNECTED 461,264. 05:28:00

So it obviously disconnected a different time for some reason but the stats got stuck some hours later.

The only way to get it going is by stopping and restarting all servers. Just stopping and restarting one does not resolve the issue.

User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 5529
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26

Re: Network Streaming Monitor status not updating

Post by radio42 » 11 Jun 2019 20:36

Sorry to bother you again.

From what you write it sounds the Uptime value is different for the SHOUTcast and the ICEcast server.
(Which might simply be because of certain network or server issues?)

Further it sounds, like the listener count isn’t displayed anymore for the ICEcast servers?!
Is this correct?
Or is also the uptime and KB send value not increasing/changing anymore?

And if it stopped updating those values, is that always only happening for the ICEcast servers. Or is that also happening for the SHOUTcast server?

phonic
Posts: 120
Joined: 06 Mar 2019 14:45

Re: Network Streaming Monitor status not updating

Post by phonic » 11 Jun 2019 20:57

radio42 wrote:
11 Jun 2019 20:36
Sorry to bother you again.

From what you write it sounds the Uptime value is different for the SHOUTcast and the ICEcast server.
(Which might simply be because of certain network or server issues?)

Further it sounds, like the listener count isn’t displayed anymore for the ICEcast servers?!
Is this correct?
Or is also the uptime and KB send value not increasing/changing anymore?

And if it stopped updating those values, is that always only happening for the ICEcast servers. Or is that also happening for the SHOUTcast server?
I noticed a missed off the listeners from ICEcast.

Yes, it’s stops updating the time, Sent data and current listeners not matter if it’s ICEcast or SHOUTcast

The above stats I posted have been the same all day, and just waiting for a quiet time to restart the servers again.

Just to add that the stream continues encoding as normal after the stats( Sent(KB), Time, Listeners) stop updating.

phonic
Posts: 120
Joined: 06 Mar 2019 14:45

Re: Network Streaming Monitor status not updating

Post by phonic » 11 Jun 2019 23:16

TO save confusion I've attached a screen shot of the server monitor. It's changed to one of them not displaying any live stats now. Just the name and connection status. The stats you see in the attached image have been the same all day(frozen) as posted before, but now one of them has gone blank.

Hope this makes it clearer for you.
Attachments
Screenshot 2019-06-11 at 22.06.23.png

User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 5529
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26

Re: Network Streaming Monitor status not updating

Post by radio42 » 12 Jun 2019 17:20

I still would have no clue how this could ever happen.
Can you please do the following - once this happens again... - when it happens, than:
- go to the general settings, section More Stuff and enable the option 'Debug Logging'
- close the general settings and wait a few seconds (5-10 sec. should be good)
- go to the general settings, section More Stuff and disable the option 'Debug Logging' again!

Now you should find in your ProppFrexx AppDataUser folder a Debug_....log file (for the current date and time).
Please send me this file - maybe it contains more valuable info about a possible reason.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests