Time drift on recording output to file

You have a question or need an advice about how to do something? Ask it here!
phonic
Posts: 126
Joined: 06 Mar 2019 14:45

Time drift on recording output to file

Post by phonic » 01 May 2019 01:06

I've notice time drift on recording output to hourly files of 1 second per day.
For example last weeks programme called:
Start Anew REC-2019-04-23 18-59-42.mp3 - this week: Start Anew REC-2019-04-30 19-00-01.mp3

As a soluion would it be possible to add a sync to hour option like BUTT Encoder with the automatic file splitting option to synced to the full hour?

User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 5561
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26

Re: Time drift on recording output to file

Post by radio42 » 01 May 2019 10:22

What are your recording settings? And how/where are you recording?

a) Have you defined a 'Time Limit' in the general settings, section 'Encoding Recording'?
b) Have you enabled the 'New Auto Recording Session' option in the general settings, section 'Scripts/Scheduler'?
c) Have you set any 'Auto Sensing' with the related mixer input channel (make a right-click on the 'REC' button)?

phonic
Posts: 126
Joined: 06 Mar 2019 14:45

Re: Time drift on recording output to file

Post by phonic » 01 May 2019 13:26

a) Have you defined a 'Time Limit' in the general settings, section 'Encoding Recording'?
Change with Filename selected, time Limit: 01:00:00

b) Have you enabled the 'New Auto Recording Session' option in the general settings, section 'Scripts/Scheduler'?
No, I did no see that option, I just looked in Encoding/recording page. I assume this will start a new file with each programme?

c) Have you set any 'Auto Sensing' with the related mixer input channel (make a right-click on the 'REC' button)?
Yes, "Auto Start Recording" on the Output device, Constantly recording in 1 hour files using the filename:
${progcurrentname} REC-${yyyy}-${MM}-${dd} ${HH}-${mm}-${ss}

With the "New Auto Recording Session" option, I assume I would need remove the option in Output device "Auto Start Recording" or time length as it would start a fresh recording with the next programme?

User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 5561
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26

Re: Time drift on recording output to file

Post by radio42 » 01 May 2019 13:32

You can find the 'New Auto Recording Session' option in the general settings, section 'Scripts/Scheduler'.

Yes, I assume, that your new recording session starts with each new program.

phonic
Posts: 126
Joined: 06 Mar 2019 14:45

Re: Time drift on recording output to file

Post by phonic » 01 May 2019 13:36

That was fun... unselected "Auto Start Recording" and selecting apply just froze and closed ProppFrexx. No error message. I've had this before with making changes to audio devices in ProppFrexx. I'm taking the opportunity to upgrade ProppFrexx, it was running .23.

phonic
Posts: 126
Joined: 06 Mar 2019 14:45

Re: Time drift on recording output to file

Post by phonic » 01 May 2019 13:37

radio42 wrote:
01 May 2019 13:32
You can find the 'New Auto Recording Session' option in the general settings, section 'Scripts/Scheduler'.

Yes, I assume, that your new recording session starts with each new program.

I will give it a go once I've got it back up an running on .27

User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 5561
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26

Re: Time drift on recording output to file

Post by radio42 » 01 May 2019 14:49

Oki, but what do you want to achieve exactly?
Do you want to exactly start a new recording at the full hour, even if a new program starts a little before or after?
Or should the recording be aligned with each new program start?

a)
If you want to always start a new recording at the full hour, I suggest to:
- set the Automatic Mixer Channel Recording Filename to: REC-${yyyy}-${MM}-${dd} ${HH}
- set the Time Limit to 00:00:00
- and check the option "Change with Filename"
This will ensure, that a new recording session is created once the resolved effective filename is changing. Else a new session is only created in case of the time limit is reached resp. if a new program is started (and the 'New Auto Recording Session' option is set with the Scheduler section).
Note, that I removed the ${progcurrentname} as well as the -${mm}-${ss} macros from the Filename, as otherwise a new recording would also start when any of these macro names would change!

b)
If you want to start a recording with each new program, I suggest to:
- you might leave the Filename to: ${progcurrentname} REC-${yyyy}-${MM}-${dd} ${HH}-${mm}-${ss}
- set the Time Limit to 00:00:00
- and uncheck the option "Change with Filename"!
But now enable the the 'New Auto Recording Session' option in the Scheduler section!

In both cases also disable any 'Auto Sensing' option.

phonic
Posts: 126
Joined: 06 Mar 2019 14:45

Re: Time drift on recording output to file

Post by phonic » 01 May 2019 16:40

The idea is record each show for on-demand later, so adding the name and date, time, makes it easy to find.
I've set he timer to 00:00:00 and enabled "New Auto Recording Session", and disabled "Change with Filename".
Also, in output devices "OUT" I left "Auto Start Recording" enabled.

From the first 2 hours, it seems to be fine.
One thing if it's possible, I have an overlay that plays on each hour, about 5 minutes, news, averts, promos, stations ids. Is it possible to make it start recording when the programme starts? Would this involved changing the complete programme schedule to start each programme a xx:05, or it there an easy way?

User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 5561
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26

Re: Time drift on recording output to file

Post by radio42 » 01 May 2019 16:58

It should be straight, by just using the Overlay Scheduler to schedule the needed overlay entry at e.g. xx:00:00 for around 5 minutes (whatever your news, adverts, promos etc. last). you can still leave the Program Scheduler entry start at xx:00:00 as well.
Just make sure, that the Overlay entry uses the 'Suspend Program' option.
The new program would then start once the overlay(s) is(are) completed.

You can even schedule multiple overlays. If they all use the same Start-Time and Show in Advance Time AND you checked the 'Combine Parallel Overlays' option in the general settings, section Scripts/Scheduler - those multiple overlays will be combined into one. The 'Prio.' value of each overlay then define the play out order (1, 2, 3...).

phonic
Posts: 126
Joined: 06 Mar 2019 14:45

Re: Time drift on recording output to file

Post by phonic » 01 May 2019 20:28

I already have the “Suspend Program” option selected and starts the shows after the overlay has finished as it should, however, it still records the news and promos and adverts in the file.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests