FTE interrupting a script

You have a question or need an advice about how to do something? Ask it here!
Post Reply
jsonio
Posts: 40
Joined: 10 Dec 2018 11:39
FTE interrupting a script

Post by jsonio »

Hello Bernd,

This is an old problem we already talked about.
I was wondering if there were some updates about it !

Here is the "bug" :

My script with two lines playing from 8pm to 10pm

Line 1. Load a podcast with a length of 30 minutes
Line 2. Execute myscript script that contains 2x 1minute FTEs @00:15:00 and FTE @00:45:00

Currently, there is a problem, here is what happens :

8:00 -> podcast starts line 1
8:15 -> FTE from line 2 myscript plays
8:16 -> myscript play and the end of the podcat is no played
... my script plays normally ...
10:00 -> end

Expected PF behaviour :

8:00 -> podcast starts
8:30 -> podcast stops + myscript starts
8:45 -> myscript play the @45:00 FTE
... my script plays normally ...
10:00 -> end

You told me a long time ago that using the max. remaining value, will skip @15:00 the FTE and it is true but it is a workaround because when I execute myscript without the podcast, I don't want the FTEs to be skipped when it plays long tracks.

I was wondering if there is some new features/option (like an "ignore FTEs" option on line 1) that would prevent PF to cut my podcast?

Thank you a lot in advance,

jsonio
User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 6455
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:
Re: FTE interrupting a script

Post by radio42 »

I am not sure, why you posted this here under 'Bugs', as the found behavior is 'works as designed'.
I.e. an FTE is not automatically skipped depending, if you first play a podcast or just another long track!

To solve this I suggest to simply create two scripts (i.e. myscript1 and myscript2).
The only difference between the two script might be the presence of the @15:00 FTE - e.g. in myscript1 it is there and in myscript2 it is missing.
And whenever you schedule a podcast with the original script you reference the myscript2; whereas else you use the myscript1.
jsonio
Posts: 40
Joined: 10 Dec 2018 11:39
Re: FTE interrupting a script

Post by jsonio »

Hello,

Thank you very much for your answer.

For the moment, I use an alternative script without FTEs as you advised but the problem is my podcast has a variable lenght so I can not exactly know wich FTEs of my script2 have to be cancelled because it's different each time. So it's not a perfect solution.

I called this behaviour "bug" because For me it is kind of a scope/propagation abnormal behaviour :

script1 (no FTE)
- line 1 - load 30 min track
- line 2 - execute script2 with FTE @15:00

if I wanted a FTE playing @15:00:00 in my script1, I would add it as a FTE in my script1, I don't understand why the FTE from script2 becomes global going up a level and playing as if it was a FTE from the root script1 and before the script 2 is effectively started...
For me the FTEs are fixed but attached to their script, they are not global.

Let's suppose this case :

script1 no FTE / sequential
line1 - execute script2 with FTE @03:00 and @04:00
line2 - execute script3 with FTE @03:00 and @04:00

Will the FTE's from every script be merged at hh:03 and hh:04? So the two FTEs will be played at the same time? In a sequential synchronous mode, i think while the script2 is executed, the FTEs from script3 should not be played, the when the script3 is started, the FTEs from script3 are played but the FTEs from script 2 no more.

In my point of view the logical behaviour in a sequential/synchronous mode would be :

1. The line 1 is evaluated and the FTEs stay in the scope of this line, depending on the start/end time of the line they will play or not
then
2. The line 2 is evaluated and the FTEs stay in the scope of this line, depending on the start/end time of the line they will play or not

So it seems really strange to me that a FTE is playing before its script is effectively running and going up to the beginning of the "root script" and that's why I was thinking it was a scope/propagation bug.

Thank you very much for your help !

Justin
User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 6455
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:
Re: FTE interrupting a script

Post by radio42 »

When a script is executed, with each script-line, it is checked, if a FTE is (over)due. And if, the FTE is scheduled.
Note, that a script-line is executed by the playlist, when an additional track is requested. When a playlist is initially started this is the number of DJ Players plus the LookAHead value, eg. 5 tracks are scheduled and this means typically 5 script-lines are executed.
As such, in your case this means, that your main script plus the referenced script are both initially used and as such both FTEs would be used.

However, you can use the SuppressFTE script-line option with the first script-line to suppress FTEs during that (podcast) track.

Post Reply