RS232 and airlab DT

You have a question or need an advice about how to do something? Ask it here!
tatje
Posts: 73
Joined: 23 Feb 2013 14:10
Re: RS232 and airlab DT

Post by tatje »

Hi Bernd,
I succeeded with your support and that of D&R and Niehoff AV distribution & support.
Thanks!!!
below the protocol.
kanaal 8::
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
knop aan kanaal 8::

x3Fx07x01x3Fx00x00x3Fx00x01x3Fx00x00x3Fx01x00
PLS_CURRENT_PLAY_NEXT
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
knop uit kanaal 8::

x3Fx07x01x3Fx07x01x3Fx00x00x3Fx01x00x3Fx00x00x3Fx00x00
EXEC_COMMAND2 ${autoplay}|Equals(0)|PLS_CURRENT_EJECT_CURRENT
EXEC_COMMAND2 ${autoplay}|Equals(1)|PLS_CURRENT_PAUSENOFADE_CURRENT
EXEC_COMMAND2 ${autoplay}|Equals(1)|SHOW_COUNTDOWN 3600|PLAYLIST STAAT NOG OP AUTOMAAT
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
schuif aan kanaal 8::
x3Fx00x00x3Fx00x01x3Fx00x00x3Fx01x00x3Fx07x01
PLS_CURRENT_PLAY_NEXT
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Schuif uit kanaal 8::
x3Fx07x01x3Fx00x00x3Fx00x00x3Fx00x00x3Fx01x00
EXEC_COMMAND2 ${autoplay}|Equals(0)|PLS_CURRENT_EJECT_CURRENT
EXEC_COMMAND2 ${autoplay}|Equals(1)|PLS_CURRENT_PAUSENOFADE_CURRENT
EXEC_COMMAND2 ${autoplay}|Equals(1)|SHOW_COUNTDOWN 3600|PLAYLIST STAAT NOG OP AUTOMAAT
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kanaal 9::
---------------------------------------------------------------------
knop aan: Kanaal 9::
x3Fx08x01x3Fx00x00x3Fx00x01x3Fx00x00x3Fx01x00
EXEC_COMMAND2 ${autoplay}|Equals(0)|STANDBY_PLAYNOFADE 1
---------------------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

knop uit: Kanaal 9::
x3Fx08x01x3Fx08x01x3Fx00x00x3Fx01x00x3Fx00x00x3Fx00x00
CW1_STOP_ALL
CW2_STOP_ALL
CW1_DESELECT_ALL
CW2_DESELECT_ALL
EXEC_COMMAND2 ${autoplay}|Equals(0)|STANDBY_EJECTNOFADE 1
------------------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

schuif aan:Kanaal 9::
x3Fx00x00x3Fx00x01x3Fx00x00x3Fx01x00x3Fx08x01
EXEC_COMMAND2 ${autoplay}|Equals(0)|STANDBY_PLAYNOFADE 1
----------------------------------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------------------------------
schuif uit:Kanaal 9::
x3Fx08x01x3Fx00x00x3Fx00x00x3Fx00x00x3Fx01x00

CW1_STOP_ALL
CW2_STOP_ALL
CW1_DESELECT_ALL
CW2_DESELECT_ALL
EXEC_COMMAND2 ${autoplay}|Equals(0)|STANDBY_EJECTNOFADE 1

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 8295
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:
Re: RS232 and airlab DT

Post by radio42 »

That sounds great!
Thanks for sharing your config here!
THX
tatje
Posts: 73
Joined: 23 Feb 2013 14:10
Re: RS232 and airlab DT

Post by tatje »

Hi Bernd
to come back to the problem.
if I use the code which indicates the serial monitor fader on(x3Fx00x00x3Fx00x01x3Fx00x00x3Fx01x00x3Fx07x01).
this differs what D&R uses in their protocol fader on (840000850001D00000D00100820701), read with the program (Advanced Serial Port Monitor:

https://www.aggsoft.com/support/thank-y ... id2=3oMkrb)

The problem is that if I use the code from PF on a fader (8) and start using another fader(9) this fader then uses a code from the same fader (8).
my question is why the binary code used by D&R does not come in the serial monitor, and is it different.

below the protocol What comes from D&R.

Sincerely, Tatje

// message format:

// 0xAAAAAAAA 0x0CCCCCCC 0x0DDDDDDD

//

// AA = Action

// CC = Channel

// DD = Data



#define SERIAL_ON 0x80 // On Switch

#define SERIAL_CUE 0x81 // Cue Switch

#define SERIAL_START 0x82 // Start

#define SERIAL_STOP 0x83 // Stop

#define SERIAL_ONAIR1 0x84 // OnAir1

#define SERIAL_ONAIR2 0x85 // OnAir2



#define TIMER_START 0x90 // Timer Start

#define TIMER_STOP 0x91 // Timer Stop

#define TIMER_RESET 0x92 // Timer Reset

#define SERIAL_MODULESETUPDATA 0x93 // ModuleSetupData

//Byte 0: TIMERLINEA

//Byte 1: TIMERLINEB

//Byte 2: TIMERMIC

//Byte 3: STARTLINEA

//Byte 4: STARTLINEB

//Byte 5: STARTMIC

//Byte 6: STARTFADER

//Byte 7: STARTON

//Byte 8: STARTCUE

//Byte 9: STARTPULS

//Byte 10: REMLINEA

//Byte 11: REMLINEB

//Byte 12: REMMIC

//Byte 13: DJMIC

//Byte 14: ANNMIC

//Byte 15: STUDIOMIC

//Byte 16: ONAIR1LINEA

//Byte 17: ONAIR1LINEB

//Byte 18: ONAIR1MIC

//Byte 19: ONAIR2LINEA

//Byte 20: ONAIR2LINEB

//Byte 21: ONAIR2MIC

//Byte 22: POWERON

//Byte 23: MICATLINEA

//Byte 24: MICATLINEB

//Byte 25: REMONMIC

//Byte 26: REMONLINEA

//Byte 27: REMONLINEB

//Byte 28: SWITCHSTART





#define SERIAL_MASTERSETUPDATA 0x94 // MasterSetupData

//Byte 0: AUTOCUERESET

//Byte 1: CUETOCRM

//Byte 2: AUTOCOM

//Byte 3: RS232



#define SERIAL_CONFIG 0x95

// BYTE 0: CHANNEL1

// BYTE 1: CHANNEL2

// BYTE 2: CHANNEL3

// BYTE 3: CHANNEL4

// BYTE 4: CHANNEL5

// BYTE 5: CHANNEL6

// BYTE 6: CHANNEL7

// BYTE 7: CHANNEL8

// BYTE 8: CHANNEL9

// BYTE 9: CHANNEL10

// BYTE 10: CHANNEL11

// BYTE 11: CHANNEL12

// BYTE 12: CHANNEL13

// BYTE 13: CHANNEL14

// BYTE 14: CHANNEL15

// BYTE 15: CHANNEL16



#define STORE_EEPROM 0x96

#define STORE_SMARTCARD 0x97

#define CARD_INSERTED 0x98

#define SERIAL_IDSTRING 0x9A



#define GETSERIAL_MODULESETUPDATA 0xB3

#define GETSERIAL_MASTERSETUPDATA 0xB4

#define GETSERIAL_CONFIG 0xB5



#define GETCARD_INSERTED 0xB8



#define GETSERIAL_IDSTRING 0xBA





//-- Addition for V2.0 (Director)



// message format:

// 0xAAAAAAAA 0x0CCCCCCC 0x0DDDDDDD

//

// AA = Action

// CC = Tolco channel

// DD = Data

#define TODIRECTOR_TELCO_CONNECT 0xC0

#define TODIRECTOR_TELCO_RING 0xC1

#define TODIRECTOR_TELCO_CUE 0xC2

#define TODIRECTOR_TELCO_MUTE 0xC3



#define TODIRECTOR_FUNCTION 0xD0

#define TODIRECTOR_CRMMUTE 0x00 // CRM Mute 0xD0 0x00 Data

#define TODIRECTOR_STUDIOMUTE 0x01 // STUDIO Mute 0xD1 0x01 Data

#define TODIRECTOR_CUE_BY_MIC_REMOTE 0x02 // CUE_BY_MIC_REMOTE 0xD1 0x02 Data





// message format:

// 0xAAAAAAAA 0x0CCCCCCC 0x0DDDDDDD

//

// AA = Action

// CC = Tolco channel

// DD = Data

#define FROMDIRECTOR_TELCO_ON_CONNECT 0xE0

#define FROMDIRECTOR_TELCO_MUTE 0xE1

#define FROMDIRECTOR_TELCO_TB 0xE2



#define FROMDIRECTOR_TB 0xF0

#define TB_CONSOLE 0x00 //TB Console 0xF0 0x00 Data

#define TB_ALL 0x01 //TB All 0xF0 0x01 Data
tatje
Posts: 73
Joined: 23 Feb 2013 14:10
Re: RS232 and airlab DT

Post by tatje »

Hi Bernd,
do you have a solution for this problem ?

if I use the code which indicates the serial monitor fader on(x3Fx00x00x3Fx00x01x3Fx00x00x3Fx01x00x3Fx07x01).
this differs what D&R uses in their protocol fader on (840000850001D00000D00100820701), read with the program (Advanced Serial Port Monitor:

Greetings Tatje
User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 8295
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:
Re: RS232 and airlab DT

Post by radio42 »

No, I would not have a clue or resolution to this, why this is different.
But I can only have a guess:
As I am using a RegEx and compare the text transmitted in any serial protocol and as the serial port protocols are pretty old, I am always using ASCII (7-bit) encoding.
Or in other words, I do not treat the serial protocol as a real binary protocol, but as a 7-bit ASCII protocol.
As sich, all characters greater than x7F are not encoded correctly.

To change that just for that mixer will take some time and hasn't the highest priority being honest, but I will take a look.
I can also not test this, as I don't have such mixer using such old serial protocol to test with.
tatje
Posts: 73
Joined: 23 Feb 2013 14:10
Re: RS232 and airlab DT

Post by tatje »

ok bernd,
If you have time for it and the time has come, we would of course want to test it.
There will be more users who own this mixing console.

Regards, Tatje
User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 8295
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:
Re: RS232 and airlab DT

Post by radio42 »

Was easier than I thought- if that works.
I added a new setting in the Serial-IO : Encoding.
You might try to set it to ‚utf-8‘ to see, if solves your issue.

Added to the new v4.2.6.12.
tatje
Posts: 73
Joined: 23 Feb 2013 14:10
Re: RS232 and airlab DT

Post by tatje »

Hi Bernd,
I tested it but the code remains the same.
Fader on (x3Fx00x00x3Fx00x00x3Fx00x00x3Fx01x00x3Fx07x01)
the problem is in the x3F they must have a different value as in the D&R code 84.85 ,D0, and the 82 (840000850001D00000D00100820701).

Below the readout of some channels.


channel 7
cue to:
830701D00000
button on:
830701
button is on fader on:
840000850001D00000D00100820701

channel 8
cue to:
830801D00000
button on:
830801
button is on fader on:
840000850001D00000D00100820801

channel 9
cue to:
D00000
button on:
830901
button is on fader on:
840000850000D00000D00100

channel 10
cue to:
830A01D00000
button on:
830A01
button is on fader on:
840000850001D00000D00100820A01

channel 11
cue to:
830B01820B01D00000
button on:
830B01830B01
button is on fader on:
840000850000D00000D00100820B01

channel 12
cue to:
830C01820C01D00000
button on:
830C01830C01
button is on fader on:
840000850000D00000D00100820C01

Greetings Tatje
User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 8295
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:
Re: RS232 and airlab DT

Post by radio42 »

If the output is the same and the setting is even set to 8 data bits and an encoding set to UTF-8 or even to UTF-32 I am also lost, as this should ensure full binary support.

I am also wondering, why you resp. D&R and Niehoff AV helped you out and even explained the initial solution using different values (with x3F etc)?

Actually I can not do more and just Print-out exactly the binary data as ProppFrexx received it.
Is maybe your serial protocol settings different?
tatje
Posts: 73
Joined: 23 Feb 2013 14:10
Re: RS232 and airlab DT

Post by tatje »

Unfortunately I can't figure it out myself, I don't know about this either.

i have had a response from Niehof AV and he thinks that PF does not have the rs232 on Hex ??

Regards, Tatje

Post Reply