Routing a playlist to concrete channel

You have a question or need an advice about how to do something? Ask it here!
Farbo
Posts: 346
Joined: 11 Apr 2012 15:04

Routing a playlist to concrete channel

Post by Farbo » 12 Apr 2012 10:55

Is it possible to route for example manually created playlist to let´s say PFL channel if I do not want to use PFL Mixing feature in order to hear how playlist will sound? All this during PF is playing automatically from another playlist generated from scheduler. This would be helpfull if PF is playing and in parallel you want to prepare playlists for next hours, etc. but do not want to listen to this playlist through PFL Mixing but have more possibilities to move in individual tracks, etc.
Last edited by radio42 on 12 Apr 2012 12:02, edited 1 time in total.
Peter

User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 5628
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26

Re: Routing a playlist to concrete channel

Post by radio42 » 12 Apr 2012 12:01

Yes, this is possible.
You can change the 'Output' of each DJ Player within a playlist to an individual mixer-output-channel.

a) Manually:
Enlarge the DJ Players to 'Full Size' (use the small arrow icon in the timecode bar; located at the left between the DJ Players and the playlist; to do so).
When in FullSize mode, click on the "OD" button to open the Output-Device popup window.
In this Output-Device popup window you can select any mixer-output-channel to be used with that DJ Player.
Repeat this for all DJ Players as needed - e.g. change all DJ Player's output to PFL.

b) Via Control-Commands:
You might use the following control-commands to change the DJ Player's output device (to e.g. the PFL mixer-output-channel):

Code: Select all

PLS_CURRENT_PLAYER_A_OUTPUT_SET PFL
PLS_CURRENT_PLAYER_B_OUTPUT_SET PFL
PLS_CURRENT_PLAYER_C_OUTPUT_SET PFL
PLS_CURRENT_PLAYER_D_OUTPUT_SET PFL
Note: The parameter used for these control-commands references the name of the mixer-output-channel to route the output to.
You might for example assign these control-commands to a single 'User-Command' button within the 'User Commands' window, so that you can change the routing of the DJ Players of the current playlist with a single click.

Farbo
Posts: 346
Joined: 11 Apr 2012 15:04

Re: Routing a playlist to concrete channel

Post by Farbo » 12 Apr 2012 14:51

Great, thank you. Really I forgot the possibility of routing individual DJ Player to different channel. And idea with control-command is much better even.
Peter

Farbo
Posts: 346
Joined: 11 Apr 2012 15:04

Re: Routing a playlist to concrete channel

Post by Farbo » 12 Apr 2012 15:10

Only question is: How can I add these commands in "user-command" window if not using UAC or different users so that I can change the routing of the DJ Players of the current playlist with a single click?
Peter

User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 5628
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26

Re: Routing a playlist to concrete channel

Post by radio42 » 12 Apr 2012 15:19

UAC is not need to assign user commands!
There are three ways to 'edit' the user control-commands:

1) In the "User Commands" window panel:
The "User Commands" window panel has a part at the bottom (in which the assigned user control-commands are shown when hoovering over an icon in the panel above).
Just make a double-click in this 'empty' space underneath the user command icons.
This will open the editor, which allows you to assign up to the 50 available user commands.

2) From the "User Control" ribbon tab:
Note, that there is a small arrow icon at the edge of the 'User Commands' group in that ribbbon.
Click on that arrow icon to invoke the editor.

3) Form the general settings dialog (F3):
Go to the section 'Events/Commands' and expand the 'Custom' node.
This node contains the same user commands for your 50 available user commands.

Farbo
Posts: 346
Joined: 11 Apr 2012 15:04

Re: Routing a playlist to concrete channel

Post by Farbo » 12 Apr 2012 15:24

Sorry. I was just wondering when clicking on this empty space in user-commands window the perspective user command did not stay highlighted.

Bernd, can I change names of each from these 50 user commands? You know for better orientation.
Peter

User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 5628
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26

Re: Routing a playlist to concrete channel

Post by radio42 » 12 Apr 2012 15:27

The perspective user command is only shown in that area when hoovering your mouse over an user command icon.
So you need to double-click.

Yes, you can assigne a Name and also an Icon/Picture for each user command:
When you focus one of the 50 user entries you'll see an 'Edit' and a 'Name' button.
Click on the 'Name' button to assign a name and/or icon to it.

Farbo
Posts: 346
Joined: 11 Apr 2012 15:04

Re: Routing a playlist to concrete channel

Post by Farbo » 12 Apr 2012 15:36

When I focus on this entry WHERE? Unfortunately if I try to do it in user-commands window or in ribbon panel I can not see any Name or Edit button. What is worng done?

I realized besides that one small thing. If I edit settings and click on OK (i.e. save them) my settings for example for playing playlist in PFL channel suddenly stops. I have to click again on the perspective user command group.
Peter

User avatar
radio42
Site Admin
Posts: 5628
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 16:26

Re: Routing a playlist to concrete channel

Post by radio42 » 12 Apr 2012 15:44

The 'Name' button is only shown in the options as explained above under 1) and 2) - but not in 3).

Regarding 'resetting' the routing when you open/closed the settings dialog:
This is currently 'by design' - as ProppFrexx revalidates all settings at this point, since you might have changed the default routing.

Farbo
Posts: 346
Joined: 11 Apr 2012 15:04

Re: Routing a playlist to concrete channel

Post by Farbo » 12 Apr 2012 16:07

Found it. :-) I can now change its name. Thanks!
Peter

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests